Result: Novak Djokovic battles past Juan Martin del Potro

Novak Djokovic of Serbia reacts after defeating Juan Martin Del Potro of Argentina in their Men's singles semifinal match at the All England Lawn Tennis Championships on July 5, 2013
© AP Photos
Novak Djokovic reaches the final of Wimbledon after a five-sets victory over Juan Martin del Potro.

Novak Djokovic has reached the final of Wimbledon with a five-sets victory over number eight seed Juan Martin del Potro.

The Serb came through 7-5 4-6 7-6 6-7 6-3 after four hours and 49 minutes of tennis.

There was little to separate the two players in the early stages of the opening set, with both holding serve well. However, an unforced error from Del Potro allowed Djokovic to break for 7-5 and claim the first set.

The second set followed a similar pattern early on, but it was Del Potro who made the crucial break in the eighth game after moving three break points ahead on the Djokovic serve. The Argentine held his nerve to serve out the set 6-4.

Both players continued to dominate on their own service games in the third set. However, with the score at 6-5, Del Potro fought back to save three set points on his service game to take it into a tie-break, which Djokovic claimed 7-2.

The fourth set also went to a tie-break, where Djokovic let two match points slip before Del Potro won it 8-6 to take the match into a deciding set.

The world number one got the crucial break in the eighth game of the final set to move 5-3 up, before serving out the match to progress to his second Wimbledon final.

He will now face either Andy Murray or Jerzy Janowicz.

Juan Martin Del Potro of Argentina reacts after winning his Men's singles match against Grega Zemlja of Slovenia at the Wimbledon Tennis Championships on June 29, 2013
Read Next:
Del Potro downplays knee problem
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060