Nick Kyrgios handed suspension by ATP Tour

Nick Kyrgios in action at the French Open on May 27, 2016
Nick Kyrgios is banned until January 15 by the ATP Tour after his conduct at last week's Shanghai Masters.

The ATP Tour has suspended Nick Kyrgios until January 15 after his conduct at last week's Shanghai Masters.

During his second-round defeat to Mischa Zverev, Kyrgios effectively gave up midway through the second set and at one point walked off court before a return had been made to his lacklustre serve.

After the match, Kyrgios defended his actions but he was later fined £13,500 for breaching the ATP's code of conduct, and the ATP has now gone a step further to hand additional punishments to the Australian.

As well as receiving another fine of £20,560, Kyrgios will not return to tennis until next year unless he agrees to see a sports psychologist. If he agrees to do so, the ban will be reduced to three tournament weeks.

In a statement, Kyrgios said: "The Asian circuit was particularly tough after the long week and win in Tokyo and with the travel throughout the continent, my body finally just gave out in Shanghai both physically and mentally. This is no excuse, and I know very well that I need to apologise to the fans – in Shanghai and in other parts of the world.

"I regret that my year is ending this way and that I will not have a chance to continue chasing the ATP Finals. This was an important goal for me. I do understand and respect the decision by the ATP and I will use this time off to improve on and off the court. I am truly sorry and look forward to returning in 2017."

Kyrgios is currently ranked at number 14 in the world rankings.

Nick Kyrgios reacts in his second-round match against Pabio Cuevas during day three of the 2016 Australian Open at Melbourne Park on January 20, 2016
Read Next:
Kyrgios: 'I don't owe fans anything'

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray11,540
2Serbia Novak Djokovic9,735
3Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,195
4Canada Milos Raonic5,080
5Japan Kei Nishikori4,730
6Spain Rafael Nadal4,115
7France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga3,480
8Croatia Marin Cilic3,410
9Austria Dominic Thiem3,375
10Switzerland Roger Federer3,260
11Belgium David Goffin3,245
12France Gael Monfils3,190
13Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov2,925
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,790
15Lucas Pouille2,261
16Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,190
17Australia Nick Kyrgios2,075
18United States Jack Sock2,060
19France Richard Gasquet1,920
20Alexander Zverev1,895