Result: Elena Vesnina prevails at Indian Wells

Svetlana Kuznetsova of Russia plays a backhand against Lucie Safarova of the Czech Republic in their quarter final round match during day six of the Mutua Madrid Open tennis tournament at the Caja Magica on May 7, 2015
© Getty Images
Elena Vesnina wins her first Indian Wells title with a gruelling three-set victory over compatriot Svetlana Kuznetsova.

Elena Vesnina has won the Indian Wells title courtesy of a hard-fought victory over compatriot Svetlana Kuznetsova in California this evening.

It took more than three hours to separate the Russian pair over three sets, with Vesnina eventually prevailing (6)6-7 7-5 6-4 to pick up her first ever title at the tournament.

Indeed, it was a first ever final at Indian Wells for the world number 15, but she made a perfect start with a break at the first opportunity to move into a 2-0 lead.

Kuznetsova - appearing in her first Indian Wells final since 2008 and third overall at the tournament - responded with a break of her own, though, and that set the tone for a topsy-turvy match that swung both ways.

Kuznetsova had a chance to wrap the set up against serve in the 10th game of the opener following two breaks apiece before that, but Vesnina held on to force a tie-break.

Once again both players struggled on their own serve and Kuznetsova squandered two more set points before finally clinching the first to move into the lead.

It was more of the same in the second as only four of the 11 games went with serve, but this time it was Vesnina who had the edge and she won five of the final six games to force a decider.

Kuznetsova then lost on her own serve in the first game of the third set to give Vesnina the initiative, although once again the world number eight responded immediately and pushed into a 4-2 lead.

However, despite having the match in her hands yet again she succumbed to another late flurry from Vesnina, who won the final four games to take the title on her second match point.

A teary Andy Murray celebrates winning the Olympic singles title in Rio on August 14, 2016
Read Next:
Andy Murray pulls out of Miami Open

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole
ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray12,005
2Serbia Novak Djokovic8,915
3Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,705
4Japan Kei Nishikori4,730
5Canada Milos Raonic4,480
6Switzerland Roger Federer4,305
7Spain Rafael Nadal4,145
8Austria Dominic Thiem3,465
9Croatia Marin Cilic3,420
10France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga3,310
11France Gael Monfils3,190
12Belgium David Goffin2,975
13Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov2,960
14Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,790
15Lucas Pouille2,456
16Australia Nick Kyrgios2,425
17United States Jack Sock2,375
18Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,190
19Pablo Carreno Busta2,025
20Alexander Zverev1,850