North America to host Rugby League World Cup in 2025

 General view of a rugby ball on a tee during the Zurich Premiership match between Leeds Tykes and Bath on September 14, 2003
© Getty Images
The Rugby League International Federation announces that Canada and the United States will jointly host the 2025 instalment of the World Cup.

The Rugby League World Cup will be staged outside of Europe and Australasia for the first time in 2025 after North America won the right to host the tournament.

The United States and Canada recently missed out on the 2021 instalment of the competition, which was awarded to England, but they were recommended as potential hosts for 2025.

It has now been announced by Rugby League International Federation (RLIF) that the two nations will jointly stage what will be a historic 17th edition of the World Cup, taking it away from rugby league's traditional heartland for the first time.

"The award of the 2025 World Cup to North America is a historic moment in the global development of rugby league," RLIF chairman Nigel Wood said at the governing body's annual meeting in Liverpool.

"The USA and Canada provides world class stadiums allied to a significant multi cultural population which made the bid so persuasive. It is exciting that our sport is expanding into a new destination for our premier event the World Cup."

The United States qualified for the 2013 and 2017 World Cups, while Canada's first professional outfit - the Toronto Wolfpack - will compete in English rugby league's third tier this coming season.

New Rugby League generic
Read Next:
Bennett named England head coach
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Super League TablePPTS
1Castleford Tigers1832
2Hull FC1925
3Salford Red Devils1924
4Leeds Rhinos1822
5Wakefield Trinity Wildcats1922
6St Helens1817
7Wigan Warriors1917
8Huddersfield Giants1815
9Warrington Wolves1914
10Catalans Dragons1913
11Leigh Centurions1710
12Widnes Vikings179