Daniel Ricciardo "pleasantly surprised" by Singapore Grand Prix qualifying

Red Bull Racing's Australian driver Daniel Ricciardo celebrates in the parc ferme at the Spa-Francorchamps circuit in Spa on August 24, 2014
© Getty Images
Red Bull driver Daniel Ricciardo admits that he was "pleasantly surprised" by his pace in qualifying third at the Singapore Grand Prix.

Daniel Ricciardo has admitted that he was "pleasantly surprised" to qualify in third place for tomorrow's Singapore Grand Prix.

The Red Bull driver led the field late on before Mercedes drivers Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton, who will start from pole position, both beat his time.

The Australian told BBC Sport: "We are pleasantly surprised with the result and how close it was. [Mercedes] were a fair way in front yesterday but today it was only two tenths. We thought Mercedes had more in the bag so that's going to be interesting.

"It's tricky to overtake here but we have got a chance to race them tomorrow. It could be on! It's nice there are more teams closer to pole this weekend so it will make the race more exciting."

Ricciardo has won three races so far this season, and sits third in the drivers' standings.

British driver Lewis Hamilton celebrates next to second placed Mercedes' German driver Nico Rosberg on the podium after the Italian Formula One Grand Prix motor race at the Autodromo Nazionale circuit in Monza on September 7, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton claims pole position in Singapore
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0