Christian Horner tips Red Bull to keep Daniil Kvyat

Daniil Kvyat of Toro Rosso walks in the paddock during previews to the Spanish Formula One Grand Prix at Circuit de Catalunya on May 12, 2016
© Getty Images
Daniil Kvyat is on track to stay at Toro Rosso in 2018, according to Red Bull Racing boss Christian Horner.

Daniil Kvyat is on track to stay at Toro Rosso in 2018, according to Red Bull Racing boss Christian Horner.

The Russian was criticised on all sides for his first-lap crash in Austria. It was similar crashes that put the young Russian's entire F1 career under a cloud last year, but Horner insists that Austria should not be a glitch as Red Bull decides what to do for next year.

"What happened [in Austria] can happen, so the decision won't be made on the basis of that," said Horner.

"I think Dany has had a pretty good season.

"We also have a lot of time inside Red Bull to decide, but I see no reason why we should replace him at this time. Let's wait and see how things develop."

Rumours are rife about Red Bull's four F1 drivers, with both Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen linked with Ferrari, and Kvyat's Toro Rosso teammate Carlos Sainz having a rumoured standing offer to switch to Renault.

Carlos Sainz of Toro Rosso during previews to the Formula One Grand Prix of China at Shanghai International Circuit on April 14, 2016
Read Next:
Red Bull take up option on Sainz contract
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0