Result: Lewis Hamilton wins Singapore Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton edges out Sebastian Vettel to win the Singapore Grand Prix as Nico Rosberg is forced to retire due to an electrical fault.

Lewis Hamilton took pole position from Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg after winning the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday to go three points clear of his championship rival.

The Brit finished just 0.007 seconds ahead of Sebastian Vettel, who claimed his best result of the year, while Daniel Ricciardo came third behind the pair.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain lifts up his winning trophy on the podium after the Formula One Singapore Grand Prix at the Marina Bay street circuit on September 21, 2014© Getty Images

Speaking after the race, Hamilton told reporters: "A huge thanks to the team. What we've done this year is incredible. I knew we have a car we can fight with, and it was a great feeling throughout the race.

"The pressure was not too bad [on the final pit-stop]. I didn't not know the situation, if, for example the safety car would come out, but I knew we had a chance to get by."

Rosberg was forced to retire after an electrical fault as Fernando Alonso and Felipe Massa made up the top five.

Results in full:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes).
2. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Fernando Alonso (Ferrari)
5. Felipe Massa (Williams)
6. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
7. Sergio Perez (Force India)
8. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
9. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
10. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
11. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
12. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus)
13. Romain Grosjean (Lotus)
14. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
15. Marucs Ericsson (Caterham)
16. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
17. Max Chilton (Marussia)
18. Jensen Button (McLaren)
19. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
20. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
21. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
22. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham).

British driver Lewis Hamilton celebrates next to second placed Mercedes' German driver Nico Rosberg on the podium after the Italian Formula One Grand Prix motor race at the Autodromo Nazionale circuit in Monza on September 7, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton claims pole position in Singapore
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0