Sebastian Vettel fastest in third practice

Sebastian Vettel celebrates after securing pole position at the end of qualifying for the Singapore Formula One Grand Prix on September 21, 2013
© Getty Images
Sebastian Vettel records the fastest time in the third practice session ahead of Sunday's British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

Red Bull driver Sebastian Vettel has recorded the quickest time in the third practice session ahead of the British Grand Prix.

The defending champion, who has endured a frustrating 2014, finished ahead of teammate Daniel Ricciardo as Mercedes duo Nico Rosberg and Lewis Hamilton were kept in the garage ahead of qualifying later today.

Lotus Renault pair Pastor Maldonado and Romain Grosjean ended the session in third and fourth respectively, while Adrian Sutil finished in fifth for Sauber.

Toro Rosso's Daniil Kvyat was sixth, while Kevin Magnussen and Jenson Button placed in seventh and eighth ahead of Williams's Valtteri Bottas.

Full practice standings:

1. Sebastian Vettel (Red Bull)
2. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
3. Pastor Maldonado (Lotus Renault)
4. Romain Grosjean (Lotus Renault)
5. Adrian Sutil (Sauber)
6. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
7. Kevin Magnussen (McLaren)
8. Jenson Button (McLaren)
9. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
10. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
11. Jean-Eric Vergne (Toro Rosso)
12. Esteban Gutierrez (Sauber)
13. Felipe Massa (Williams)
14. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
15. Sergio Perez (Force India)
16. Marcus Ericsson (Caterham)
17. Jules Bianchi (Marussia)
18. Kamui Kobayashi (Caterham)

Nico Rosberg of Mercedes GP prepares to drive during practice for the Australian Formula One Grand Prix on March 14, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Rosberg heads Hamilton in first Austrian practice
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0