Result: Lewis Hamilton claims record-equalling pole position at British Grand Prix

Mercedes AMG Petronas British driver Lewis Hamilton flashes the sign for victory after winning the pole position for the Formula One Bahrain Grand Prix following the qualification session at the Sakhir circuit in the desert south of the Bahraini capital,
© Getty Images
Mercedes's Lewis Hamilton turns in the fastest time in qualifying at the British Grand Prix.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton has claimed the fastest time in qualifying at the British Grand Prix.

The Briton crossed the finish line with a time of 1:26.600 to secure a record-equalling fifth pole position at Silverstone.

Hamilton came in half a second ahead of second-placed Kimi Raikkonen of Ferrari, and seven tenths up on title rival Sebastian Vettel and teammate Valtteri Bottas in third and fourth, respectively.

The 32-year-old is 20 points behind Vettel in the standings ahead of Sunday's race and is looking for a win to get his campaign back on track.

Although Bottas was the fourth-quickest in qualifying, he will start in ninth after incurring a five-place grid penalty.

Qualifying standings in full:

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
3. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
4. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
5. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
6. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
7. Sergio Perez (Force India)
8. Esteban Ocon (Force India)
9. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)
10. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
11. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
12. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
13. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
14. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
15. Felipe Massa (Williams)
16. Lance Stroll (Williams)
17. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
18. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)
19. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
20. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)

Lewis Hamilton stands in the paddock during a press conference at the Circuit de Catalunya on February 25, 2016
Read Next:
Absent Hamilton booed in London
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0