Valtteri Bottas claims pole for Austrian Grand Prix

Valtteri Bottas of Williams during previews ahead of the Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix at Bahrain International Circuit on March 31, 2016
© Getty Images
Valtteri Bottas qualifies in pole position for the Austrian Grand Prix ahead of Ferrari pair Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

Valtteri Bottas has qualified in pole position for Sunday's Austrian Grand Prix ahead of Ferrari duo Sebastian Vettel and Kimi Raikkonen.

The Mercedes driver was third-fastest in the practice sessions behind teammate Lewis Hamilton and Vettel, but he turned it on in qualifying to ensure that he will start from the front of the grid at the Red Bull Ring.

Hamilton endured a difficult time of things in a session cut short by a yellow flag and will start eighth on the grid following a five-place penalty due to a gearbox change.

Vettel crossed the line with the second-fastest time and will start the race one place ahead of teammate Raikkonen as the constructors' championship takes another twist.

Red Bull duo Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen make up the top five despite the latter spinning off during his flying lap.

1. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
2. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
3. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
5. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
6. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
7. Sergio Perez (Force India)
8. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
9. Esteban Ocon (Force India)
10. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
11. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
12. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
13. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)
14. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
15. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
16. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
17. Felipe Massa (Williams)
18. Lance Stroll (Williams)
19. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
20. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)

Sebastian Vettel of Germany and Ferrari looks on as he sits in the garage during final practice for the Formula One Grand Prix of Italy at Autodromo di Monza on September 5, 2015
Read Next:
Sebastian Vettel avoids further punishment
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0