McLaren's Kevin Magnussen 'seeks doctor's treatment due to overheating seat'

Kevin Magnussen of Finland and McLaren walks in the paddock following practice for the Bahrain Formula One Grand Prix on April 19, 2013
© Getty Images
McLaren driver Kevin Magnussen reportedly needed treatment from a doctor due to an overheating seat in Sunday's Singapore Grand Prix.

McLaren driver Kevin Magnussen reportedly required treatment on his back due to an overheating seat in the Singapore Grand Prix on Sunday.

The 21-year-old earned a point by finishing in 10th place under the floodlights, but suffered some problems in the process.

According to BBC Sport, the Dane left the race relatively unhurt, but his back was seen to by a doctor due to the heat and his mouth was also burned after his drinks bottle boiled.

"It was hot," Magnussen is quoted as saying. "Really tough. I never experienced anything like this in racing. I couldn't drink water, and the seat was very hot. I still feel dehydrated. I lost a lot of water."

The Formula 1 driver played down concerns by tweeting that reports of burns were "a bit exaggerated, I was just hot and sweaty! #notdead."

Lewis Hamilton overtook Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg in the driver rankings by winning yesterday's race in Singapore.

Mercedes driver Lewis Hamilton of Britain lifts up his winning trophy on the podium after the Formula One Singapore Grand Prix at the Marina Bay street circuit on September 21, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Hamilton wins Singapore Grand Prix
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0