Gunther Steiner: 'Fernando Alonso at Indy doesn't hurt Formula 1'

Fernando Alonso of McLaren Honda in the paddock during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
© Getty Images
Gunther Steiner plays down claims that Fernando Alonso's Indy 500 foray this weekend hurts Formula 1.

Gunther Steiner has played down claims that Fernando Alonso's Indy 500 foray this weekend hurts Formula 1.

F1 chief executive Chase Carey has said that it would be better if the Spaniard were in Monaco, and Haas chief Steiner agrees that the big winner is Indycar.

"I think Fernando helps Indy more than Formula 1. But I also see no disadvantage for F1," said Steiner, according to Speed Week.

"I also think it will be a one-off, because let's be honest - why would anyone want to miss Monaco? With Fernando, it's clear why he did it, but it would be more difficult for an Indycar driver to prove himself in Formula 1.

"And let's say Lewis Hamilton wanted to do it - ask Toto [Wolff] if he would agree."

However, it could be a different matter for McLaren drivers.

The British team's new executive Zak Brown hinted that McLaren might be considering a full-time Indycar foray.

"[Indycar] is something that we're definitely going to discuss and [we] have met with Indycar, and are certainly interested in competing in some way, shape or form in the not-too-distant future," he said.

Alonso has failed to pick up any points in 2017 after a frustrating start to the season at McLaren.

Stewart-Haas Racing co-owner Gene Haas at a press conference during NASCAR Sprint Media Tour at Charlotte Convention Center on January 27, 2014
Read Next:
Grosjean not complaining 'good sign'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0