Romain Grosjean welcomes Formula 1's new American owners

Romain Grosjean of Haas F1 in the paddock ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of China at Shanghai International Circuit on April 17, 2016
© Getty Images
Romain Grosjean welcomes F1's new American owners, saying that the 'American way' can be good for the sport.

Romain Grosjean has welcomed Formula 1's new American owners, saying that the 'American way' can be good for the sport.

It has been announced that US media tycoon John Malone's Liberty Media, and new executive chairman Chase Carey, are taking over from CVC as the sport's majority owners.

Frenchman Grosjean is now well versed in the 'American way' of going racing in F1, having switched from Lotus to be the lead driver of the new American team Haas in 2016.

"America knows how to put on a show if you take a look at the Super Bowl or Nascar," he is quoted as saying by Straits Times.

"It's such a big country and a big market. In the Austin grand prix last year, people were enthusiastic and they loved the sport.

"It'd even be nice to have a second grand prix there. I'd love to have a race on the west coast, maybe somewhere around Los Angeles. If we get more races in the US, they'll probably love F1 more."

The 2016 season continues on Sunday in Singapore.

Esteban Gutierrez of Haas in the paddock during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
Read Next:
Haas unmoved over Gutierrez rumours
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull184
4Force India101
6Toro Rosso39
1Sebastian VettelFerrari202
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes188
3Valtteri BottasMercedes169
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari116
6Max VerstappenRed Bull67
7Sergio PerezForce India56
8Esteban OconForce India45
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso35
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Fernando AlonsoMcLaren10
16Pascal WehrleinSauber5
17Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
18Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren1
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Jolyon PalmerRenault0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0
23Paul di RestaWilliams-Mercedes0