Sebastian Vettel calls for jump start rules rethink

Sebastian Vettel of Germany and Ferrari looks on as he sits in the garage during final practice for the Formula One Grand Prix of Italy at Autodromo di Monza on September 5, 2015
© Getty Images
Sebastian Vettel calls for a rules rethink regarding jump starts in F1.

Sebastian Vettel has called for a rules rethink regarding jump starts in Formula 1.

A week ago in Austria, the Ferrari driver disputed the FIA's insistence that Valtteri Bottas did not jump the start.

The current rules permit some movement of the car after the fifth light goes on, allowing for the engagement of the clutch.

Yet Vettel says that this means a driver can anticipate the start of the race, rather than react purely to the lights going out.

Finn Bottas admits: "If you're moving exactly at the same point the lights go off you definitely are on the risky side rather than the safe side.

"Everyone is obviously free to kind of guess when the lights go off."

However, Vettel said that is wrong.

"He got away with it because that's the way the rules are," said the Ferrari driver. "So we should look at the rules more closely.

"I don't think any of us would risk trying to repeat what he did. If he tried it again he would not succeed, because it's impossible to predict the time of the start.

"His car started to move just before the lights went out. But even if you start at the same time, the human response is still greater than zero tenths of a second."

Bottas went on to win the race in Spielberg ahead of second-placed Vettel.

Nico Rosberg in action at the Spanish GP on May 14, 2016
Read Next:
Nico Rosberg rules out Ferrari comeback
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0