Flavio Briatore: 'Ferrari return not ruled out for Fernando Alonso'

Former Renault F1 team principal Flavio Briatore pictured on September 11, 2010
Flavio Briatore says that a return to Ferrari cannot be ruled out for Fernando Alonso.

Flavio Briatore has said that a return to Ferrari cannot be ruled out for Fernando Alonso.

Briatore, the former Renault boss, continues to oversee Alonso's career in Formula 1.

The Italian was in Azerbaijan last weekend, and amid rumours about Spaniard Alonso's next move he was seen having dinner with Mercedes's Toto Wolff and Niki Lauda.

Yet Briatore said that Ferrari is also a possibility for 2018, even though Alonso appeared to burn the bridge back to Maranello when he left three years ago.

"He always got along with everyone and only had problems with Mattiacci," Briatore, referring to the now-departed former Ferrari boss, told Italian radio Rai.

"In this life you cannot exclude anything. Fernando is a bit like Senna, who had no problem with any team - he only needs a car capable of winning."

However, there could also be other options for Alonso.

Briatore said: "In Formula 1 there are only two teams racing to win - Ferrari and Mercedes.

"McLaren can only be a top team if they change engines. We'll see. Red Bull and Force India can have good races, as we saw in Baku."

Alonso picked up his first two points on 2017 at last weekend's Azerbaijan Grand Prix.

Stoffel Vandoorne of McLaren Honda in the paddock during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
Read Next:
Honda to run new engine in Austria
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

3Red Bull174
4Force India95
6Toro Rosso33
1Sebastian VettelFerrari177
2Lewis HamiltonMercedes176
3Valtteri BottasMercedes154
4Daniel RicciardoRed Bull117
5Kimi RaikkonenFerrari98
6Max VerstappenRed Bull57
7Sergio PerezForce India52
8Esteban OconForce India43
9Carlos SainzToro Rosso29
10Nico HulkenbergRenault26
11Felipe MassaWilliams-Mercedes23
12Lance StrollWilliams-Mercedes18
13Romain GrosjeanHaas18
14Kevin MagnussenHaas11
15Pascal WehrleinSauber5
16Daniil KvyatToro Rosso4
17Fernando AlonsoMcLaren2
18Jolyon PalmerRenault0
19Marcus EricssonSauber0
20Stoffel VandoorneMcLaren0
21Antonio GiovinazziSauber0
22Jenson ButtonMcLaren0