Southampton draw Wolverhampton Wanderers in EFL Cup second round

Southampton draw Wolves in EFL Cup
© SilverHub
Last season's EFL Cup finalists Southampton draw Wolverhampton Wanderers in the second round.

Last season's EFL Cup finalists Southampton have been drawn against Wolverhampton Wanderers in the second round of the 2017-18 competition.

The Saints, who were defeated by Manchester United in last term's final, have been handed a home tie against the Championship outfit in the South Section of the draw.

Every Premier League club that is not involved in European competition also entered the competition in round two, with Crystal Palace drawing Ipswich Town away, Watford paying a visit to Bristol City and newly-promoted Brighton & Hove Albion hosting Barnet of League Two.

Other highlights from the South Section include West Ham United's visit to Cheltenham Town, Swansea City away to MK Dons, and Bournemouth away to Birmingham City.

The pick of the ties in the North Section is a Lancashire derby between Blackburn Rovers and Burnley, with the former at home.

Newly-promoted Huddersfield Town will host Rotherham United, Leicester City are at Sheffield United and West Bromwich Albion will visit League Two Accrington Stanley.

The ties will be played during the week commencing August 21.

The draw in full:

South Section

Brentford vs. QPR

Ipswich vs. Crystal Palace

Bristol City vs. Watford

Charlton vs. Norwich

Cheltenham vs. West Ham

Brighton vs. Barnet

Cardiff vs. Burton Albion

Southampton vs. Wolves

Fulham vs. Bristol Rovers

MK Dons vs. Swansea

Birmingham vs. Bournemouth

Reading vs. Millwall

North Section

Carlisle vs. Sunderland

Bolton vs. Sheffield Wednesday

Accrington Stanley vs. West Brom

Newcastle vs. Nottingham Forest

Newport County vs. Leeds (tie to be played at Elland Road at Newport's request)

Stoke vs. Rochdale

Huddersfield vs. Rotherham

Middlesbrough vs. Scunthorpe

Doncaster vs. Hull

Blackburn vs. Burnley

Sheffield United vs. Leicester

Aston Villa vs. Wigan

Barnsley vs. Derby or Grimsby

Wigan chairman Dave Whelan kisses the trophy following his team's 1-0 victory during the FA Cup with Budweiser Final between Manchester City and Wigan Athletic at Wembley Stadium on May 11, 2013
Read Next:
Man United face Wigan in FA Cup fourth round
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Manchester CityMan City54101621413
2Manchester UnitedMan Utd54101621413
4Newcastle UnitedNewcastle53026429
5Tottenham HotspurSpurs52217348
6Huddersfield TownHuddersfield52215328
10West Bromwich AlbionWest Brom52214408
13Stoke CityStoke512256-15
14Swansea CitySwansea512225-35
15Leicester CityLeicester511379-24
16Brighton & Hove AlbionBrighton511347-34
17West Ham UnitedWest Ham5113410-64
20Crystal Palace500508-80