Leyton Orient name Danny Webb as new manager following Andy Edwards departure

Leyton Orient name Danny Webb as new boss
© Getty Images
Leyton Orient promote Danny Webb to the role of manager until the end of the season after Andy Edwards left to take up a post at the Football Association.

Leyton Orient have promoted Danny Webb to the role of manager until the end of the season after Andy Edwards left to take up a post at the Football Association.

The 33-year-old will be tasked with keeping the O's in the Football League after they dropped into the League Two relegation places on Saturday following a 2-0 defeat at Mansfield Town.

Webb, who was appointed Orient first-team coach this summer, became assistant manager when Edwards was appointed on November 23 and has now been given a second promotion in quick succession.

Edwards confirmed earlier on Sunday that he was leaving the club after just two months in the hotseat.

"It is with regret that I have made the decision to stand down as manager of Leyton Orient FC," Edwards said in a statement.

"I have been offered and duly accepted a role working within the coaching department of the Football Association.

"I thank the chairman for the opportunity to manage the team and I thank all staff, players and supporters for the backing that they have given to me in my time here - I wish Leyton Orient every success in the challenge ahead and in the longer-term future."

Webb's first game in charge will be the visit of promotion-chasing Carlisle United to the Matchroom Stadium this weekend.

A general view of the interior of Brisbane Road before the Sky Bet League One match between Leyton Orient and Port Vale at Brisbane Road on September 14, 2013
Read Next:
Cavasin sacked by Leyton Orient
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

1Sutton UnitedSutton127141615122
2Aldershot TownAldershot126332011921
3Dover AthleticDover Athletic12633158721
4Halifax Town126331511421
7Dagenham & RedbridgeDag & Red125522517820
8Macclesfield TownMacclesfield126241214-220
9Maidstone UnitedMaidstone125431815319
11Maidenhead UnitedMaidenhead125341714318
12Boreham WoodBoreham Wood125252016417
13Leyton Orient125251720-317
17Hartlepool UnitedHartlepool124351113-215
18Tranmere RoversTranmere13346913-413
21Chester FCChester122551219-711
23Solihull MoorsSolihull122281221-98
24Torquay UnitedTorquay Utd110471021-114