Sky Sports unveils major revamp

Sky Sports unveils major revamp
© Sky Sports
Sky Sports unveils a major revamp of its channel portfolio, introducing sport-specific channels and reducing prices.

Sky Sports has today confirmed details of a major revamp of its channel lineup.

Beginning Tuesday, July 8, Sky Sports 1-5 will be replaced with a series of sport-specific channels, building on the success of the Sky Sports F1 service.

A new channel called Sky Sports Premier League will broadcast 126 live games from the top flight alongside documentaries, highlights and a new nightly debate show.

Sky Sports Football, meanwhile, will be home to games from the EFL, La Liga, SPFL, EFL Cup, MLS, Eredivisie and World Cup qualifiers, while there will also be dedicated Sky Sports Cricket and Sky Sports Golf channels.

Coverage of rugby union, rugby league, tennis, boxing, NFL and other sports will be spread among two new channels, Sky Sports Arena and Sky Sports Action, and a new channel called Sky Sports Main Event will showcase the biggest sporting events from across the individual channels.

Sky has also launched a new pricing structure allowing customers to select which sports channels they receive, potentially reducing their monthly bills. One channel will cost £18, two will cost £22, three will cost £26 or the entire sports package will cost £27.50.

EPG numbers for the new channels on Sky will be:

Sky Sports Main Event – Channel 401
Sky Sports Premier League – Channel 402
Sky Sports Football - Channel 403
Sky Sports Cricket - Channel 404
Sky Sports Golf – Channel 405
Sky Sports F1 – Channel 406
Sky Sports Action - Channel 407
Sky Sports Arena - Channel 408
Sky Sports News - Channel 409

Sunderland's Jermain Defoe with fan Bradley Lowery at the Premier League match against Everton on February 25, 2017
Read Next:
Defoe pays tribute to "best friend" Bradley Lowery
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole