MX23RW : Wednesday, May 25 16:43:18| >> :600:1660174:1660174:

On this day in 2008: Team GB win gold in men's team sprint cycling

Team GB hit the finishing line more than half a second faster than the French.

Men's cycling team sprint final trio Chris Hoy, Jason Kenny and Jamie Staff won Olympic gold for Great Britain in Beijing on this day in 2008.

Great Britain hit the finishing line in a time of 43.128 seconds, more than half a second faster than the French, while Germany took the bronze medal ahead of Australia.

Five months previously, Hoy and Staff had been on the losing team when the French won the world title by half a second.

"Honestly, it took every inch of effort in beating the French, who have been invincible," said Hoy.

"The French have been so dominant. We have really put all the pieces of the jigsaw together.

"We really focused on the details and to stick half a second into them, it is amazing."

Scotsman Hoy went on to become the first British Olympian for 100 years to claim three gold medals at the same Games when he also won the men's keirin and the individual sprint.

Alongside Kenny and Philip Hindes, Hoy helped to successfully defended the team sprint crown at London 2012.

Hoy also won the individual keirin title again to stand alone as Team GB's most successful Olympian, with six gold medals, ahead of Sir Steve Redgrave.

Kenny would later move in front of Hoy's tally when he won a seventh gold in the keirin at the 2020 Games in Tokyo, his ninth Olympic medal overall.

ID:459459:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:collect4219:
Collect / Create New Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Jason Kenny and Laura Kenny celebrate winning gold at the Rio Olympics in 2016
Read Next:
Pre-Tokyo plan for change helps put GB cycling team top of the medals table

rhs 2.0

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Match previews - Daily
Transfer Talk Daily
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!