ParalympicsGB add 41 track and field athletes to lineup in Rio

ParalympicsGB add 41 track and field athletes to the lineup for the upcoming Games in Rio de Janeiro.

Great Britain will have an additional 41 track and field athletes competing at the Paralympics in Rio de Janeiro in September.

The British Paralympic Association announced the lineup this morning, confirming the selections of gold medallist Jonnie Peacock and Stephen Miller, who will compete in his sixth Games.

Two-time silver Paralympic medallist Libby Clegg, who will head to Rio with guide Chris Clarke, also makes the team after recently setting a world record in the T11 200m.

"I'm delighted to be selected for my third Paralympic Games," said Clegg. "It's been a whirlwind of a journey since London after a number of injuries but it's great to come through the other side and be a part of a really strong ParalympicsGB team heading out to Rio.

"Having changed classification recently, Saturday's performance in London was beyond our wildest expectations. However, we are now focused to getting amongst the medals and we can't wait to get going."

David Henson, who became an athlete after suffering an injury while serving in Afghanistan in 2011, will make his Paralympic debut, while T44 sprinter Laura Sugar and teenager Kare Adenegan are also new to the lineup.

British Athletics' Paralympic head coach Paula Dunn said: "I'm so proud of all the athletes selected today, and of the incredibly strong team of track and field athletes that we are taking to compete in Rio in just a few weeks' time.

"There is some incredible talent here and the athletes have put everything into their training to ensure we are a world class team. We will be a force to be reckoned with once competition begins."

The 41 athletes announced today will join the remaining 13 of the team, including David Weir and Hannah Cockroft.

ParalympicsGB track and field athletes:

Kare Adenegan
Home town: Coventry
Main training base: Warwick University

Graeme Ballard
Home town: Chorley
Main training base: Robin Park Wigan

Olivia Breen
Home town: Liphook
Main training base: Lee Valley London

Mickey Bushell
Home town: Telford
Main training base: Telford / London

Richard Chiassaro
Home town: Harlow
Main training base: Mark Hall Sports Centre, Harlow

Chris Clarke (guide to Libby Clegg)
Home town: Milton Keynes
Main training base: Loughborough

Libby Clegg (guided by Chris Clarke)
Home town: Newcastleton / Bollington
Main training base: Loughborough

Kadeena Cox
Home town: Leeds
Main training base: Manchester

Vanessa Daobry
Home town: Haringey, London
Main training base: Lee Valley Athletics Centre

Kyron Duke
Home town: Cwmbran
Main training base: Welsh Institute of Sport / Uwic Cyncoed

Sabrina Fortune
Home town: Mold
Main training base: Wrexham / Deeside

Toby Gold
Home town: Thames Ditton
Main training base: Kingsmeadow Athletics Track

Dan Greaves
Home town: Loughborough
Main training base: Loughborough

Kylie Grimes
Home town: Farnham
Main training base: Lee Valley Athletics Centre

David Henson
Home town: Southampton
Main training base: Mountbatten Centre, Portsmouth

Claire Harvey
Home town: Gillingham
Main training base: Ashford, Kent

Jordan Howe
Home town: Cardiff
Main training base: Loughborough University

Abbie Hunnisett
Home town: East Grinstead
Main training base: The Welsh Institute of Sport

Mo Jomni
Home town: London
Main training base: Kingston

Jade Jones
Home town: Middlesbrough
Main training base: Middlesbrough

Rhys Jones
Home town: Tonypandy
Main training base: Cardiff

Sophie Kamlish
Home town: Bath
Main training base: University of Bath

Samantha Kinghorn
Home town: Gordon
Main training base: Glasgow

Simon Lawson
Home town: Maryport
Main training base: Maryport / Carlisle

Nathan Maguire
Home town: Chester
Main training base: Liverpool

Polly Maton
Home town: Devizes
Main training base: Bath

Stephen Miller
Home town: Cramlington
Main training base: Gateshead

Steven Morris
Home town: Cardiff
Main training base: UWIC Cardiff

Holly Neill
Home town: Dorchester
Main training base: Yeovil College

Stephen Osborne
Home town: Longfield
Main training base: Lee Valley Athletics Centre

Jonnie Peacock
Home town: St Ives, Cambridgeshire
Main training base: Loughborough

Gemma Prescott
Home town: Warrington
Main training base: Basildon Sporting Village

Derek Rae
Home town: Kirkcaldy
Main training base: St. Andrews

Stef Reid
Home town: Auckland, New Zealand
Main training base: Loughborough University

Julie Rogers
Home town: Bedford
Main training base: Bedford International Athletics Stadium

Ben Rowlings
Home town: Newport, Shropshire
Main training base: Coventry

Sam Ruddock
Home town: Rugby / Grantham
Main training base: Loughborough

Andrew Small
Home town: Greater Manchester
Main training base: Greater Manchester

Laura Sugar
Home town: Cambridge
Main training base: Loughborough

Isaac Towers
Home town: Garstang
Main training base: Liverpool

Kieran Tscherniawsky
Home town: Sleaford
Main training base: Loughborough

Share this article now:
British wheelchair athlete and BT Ambassador Hannah Cockroft MBE in action.
Read Next:
Interview: Paralympic champion Hannah Cockroft
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account