David Weir wins Virgin London Wheelchair Marathon

Great Britain's David Weir has won the London Marathon men's wheelchair race challenge for a record-equalling sixth time.

Great Britain's David Weir has won the London Marathon men's wheelchair race challenge.

The Paralympian equalled Tanni Grey-Thompson's record of six London marathon wins, recording a time of 1:32:23.

Weir faced stiff competition to claim this year's crown. Switzerland's Heinz Frei, Canada's Josh Cassidy, South African Ernst van Dyk and in-form Japanese racer Masazumi Soejima were among the challengers.

"This is my favourite win ever - just because the field was so strong. This is the best field the London Marathon have ever organised," Weir told BBC Sport.

"It was very tight - very tactical the whole race. I covered everything in training this year. I knew I had to work on everything to win today."

The Brit emerged as the early pace-setter, but Soejima had his nose in front for extended spells. Soejima led as the pace-setters passed Big Ben, but Weir made a dash with 200m to go to break the tape first.

In his post-race interview Weir also hinted that he may not return to defend his title at next year's London Marathon.

He said: "I need a bit of time at home. I'll definitely take a year out after the Paras because I want to spend some time with my family. There's not a lot of goals left to do."

Shelly Woods ensured that there was further success for Britain's Paralympians, claiming victory in the women's race by finishing some three minutes ahead of her closest rival Wakako Tsuchida.

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account