After a close first set, the Spaniard made light work of her American opponent to clinch the title 7-5 6-0.
Both players set up three break points during the hard-fought opener, but only Muguruza was able to convert, scoring a crucial break with the scoreline at 5-5 and going on to serve out the set.
Williams was obliterated in the second set, with the 2015 runner-up breaking her serve at the first time of asking, and again to make it 3-0, as the match became one-sided.
Leading the second set 5-0, Muguruza set up three championship points but made hard work of collecting the trophy, squandering two of them before challenging the umpire's 'in' call on a shot Williams had hit long.
Hawkeye revealed that the shot was indeed out, crowning Muguruza as the 2017 Wimbledon champion for the women's singles category as a result.