Result: Lewis Hamilton crashes as Nico Rosberg takes pole in European Grand Prix

Nico Rosberg claims pole position for the European Grand Prix as Mercedes teammate Lewis Hamilton crashes out and slumps to 10th place on the grid.

Nico Rosberg has claimed pole position for the European Grand Prix after Lewis Hamilton's qualifying session ended with a crash, a smashed suspension and a position of 10th on the grid.

After mistakes at the end of Q2 and on his first flying lap in Q3, the Formula 1 world champion hit the wall at Turn 10 as his Mercedes teammate made the most of the opportunity.

Lewis Hamilton stops on circuit during qualifying for the European Formula One Grand Prix at Baku City Circuit on June 18, 2016© Getty Images

Prior to his qualifying disaster, Hamilton had dominated the weekend, topping the timesheets in all three practice sessions, but provided that Mercedes can repair his car for the race without triggering a penalty, he will now start the race from a distant 10th.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo will line up alongside Rosberg on the front row with the Ferrari of Sebastian Vettel third; the pair set identical lap times but Ricciardo will be given the superior grid slot because he crossed the line first.

Although Force India's Sergio Perez was second fastest in Q3, the in-form Mexican will take a five-place grid penalty for a gearbox change necessitated by his heavy crash in third practice.

Full standings

1. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
2. Sergio Perez (Force India)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
6. Felipe Massa (Williams)
7. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
8. Valtteri Bottas (Williams)
9. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
10. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
11. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
12. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
13. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
14. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
15. Esteban Gutierrez (Haas)
16. Felipe Nasr (Sauber)
17. Rio Haryanto (Manor)
18. Pascal Wehrlein (Manor)
19. Jenson Button (McLaren)
20. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
21. Kevin Magnussen (Renault)
22. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)

Sergio Perez of Force India during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
Read Next:
Ricciardo, Perez bosses say 'hands off' to Ferrari
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole