MX23RW : Tuesday, June 22 11:20:52| >> :120:8557:8557:

Result: Lewis Hamilton wins Canadian Grand Prix

Lewis Hamilton wins the Canadian Grand Prix for a sixth time to close the gap on Sebastian Vettel in the drivers' championship.

Lewis Hamilton has won the Canadian Grand Prix for a sixth time to close the gap on Sebastian Vettel in the drivers' championship.

The three-time world champion led from start to finish at the Circuit Gilles Villeneuve in Montreal, capitalising on numerous troubles for championship rival Vettel to close the gap to 12 points after seven races.

Vettel lined up in second on the grid, but after just five laps he found himself down in 18th after being forced to stop twice due to car damage.

The Ferrari man battled back to eventually cross the line in fourth having soared up the leaderboard, but neither he nor anyone else could get close to Hamilton as he dominated in Canada.

Valtteri Bottas ensured a Mercedes one-two, but he finished almost 20 seconds behind his teammate.

Red Bull's Daniel Ricciardo made up the podium in third, with Vettel missing out on the top three for the first time this year and teammate Kimi Raikkonen only managing seventh place.

There were more car woes for McLaren too as Fernando Alonso was forced to retire having seemingly run out of fuel when 10th in the race - a position which would have been good enough for them to earn their first point of the season.

Hamilton, whose first ever victory came in Canada too, moves just one behind Michael Schumacher for most wins on this leg of the Formula 1 circuit.

Full results:
1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Valtteri Bottas (Mercedes)
3. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
4. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
5. Sergio Perez (Force India)
6. Esteban Ocon (Force India)
7. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
8. Nico Hulkenberg (Renault)
9. Lance Stroll (Williams)
10. Romain Grosjean (Haas)
11. Jolyon Palmer (Renault)
12. Kevin Magnussen (Haas)
13. Marcus Ericsson (Sauber)
14. Stoffel Vandoorne (McLaren)
15. Pascal Wehrlein (Sauber)
16. Fernando Alonso (McLaren)
DNF Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso)
DNF Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
DNF Felipe Massa (Williams)
DNF Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)

ID:300238: cacheID:300238:1false2false3false:QQ:: from db desktop :LenBod:restore:5713:
Restore Data
Share this article now:
Did you know...?
Euro 2020 banner Instagram AMP
Daniel Ricciardo of Red Bull Racing in the garage during previews ahead of the Formula One Grand Prix of Russia at Sochi Autodrom on April 28, 2016
Read Next:
Ricciardo: 'No Ferrari switch for 2018'

rhs 2.0
Euro 2020 fixtures
Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Wednesday, June 23, 2021
Saturday, June 26, 2021
Sunday, June 27, 2021
Todays Game Header Right

Subscribe to our Newsletter

Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!