Result: Lewis Hamilton wins British Grand Prix for third year in a row

Result: Hamilton wins British Grand Prix
© Getty Images
Lewis Hamilton becomes the first person to win the British Grand Prix three years in a row with victory at Silverstone.

Lewis Hamilton has won the British Grand Prix at Silverstone for the third year in a row.

The two-time defending champion comfortably finished ahead of Mercedes teammate Nico Rosberg, who in turn held off a challenge from Max Verstappen to finish in second.

The victory thrusts Hamilton right back into the World Championship race, leaving him just four points behind Rosberg as he looks to win a third straight title.

The race began behind a safety car due to the wet conditions, but Hamilton led from start to finish to become the first person to win at Silverstone three years in a row.

1. Lewis Hamilton (Mercedes)
2. Nico Rosberg (Mercedes)
3. Max Verstappen (Red Bull)
4. Daniel Ricciardo (Red Bull)
5. Kimi Raikkonen (Ferrari)
6. Sergio Perez (Force India)
7. Nico Hulkenberg (Force India)
8. Carlos Sainz (Toro Rosso)
9. Sebastian Vettel (Ferrari)
10. Daniil Kvyat (Toro Rosso

Nico Rosberg in action at the Spanish GP on May 14, 2016
Read Next:
Rosberg investigated over 'qualifying breach'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole