Result: Raymond van Barneveld wins Premier League

Raymond van Barneveld wins the 2014 Premier League after recording a 10-6 victory over Michael van Gerwen at the O2 Arena in London.

Raymond van Barneveld has recorded a 10-6 win over compatriot Michael van Gerwen to win the 2014 Premier League title at the O2 Arena in London.

The five-time world champion had only earned entry into the tournament with a wildcard, but after a slow start on Thursday evening, he showed his class to be crowned champion for the first time.

Van Barneveld looked to be heading out of the competition in the semi-finals when he fell 4-1 behind to Phil Taylor, but after the Stoke-on-Trent thrower failed to make his chances count, the Dutchman took seven of the final eight legs to win 8-5 to set up a showdown with his countryman.

Van Gerwen, who had edged out Gary Anderson in the last four, started the final by hitting seven perfect darts on the way to taking the opening leg, but Van Barneveld won the next three and always remained one step ahead.

The PDC world champion pulled it back to 5-5 before Van Barneveld registered four legs in a row to move one away from success, and although Van Gerwen reduced the deficit by one, 'Barney' hit double 20 in the next to earn the glory in front of a sell-out crowd.

Michael van Gerwen of the Netherlands in action during his quarter-final match Clinton Bridge of Australia against during day two of the Sydney Darts Masters on August 30, 2013
Read Next:
Preview: Premier League playoffs
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account