Result: Gamaliel Diaz cut results in technical draw with Anthony Crolla

Anthony Crolla retains his WBO international title after a cut to Gamaliel Diaz results in the fight being stopped after three rounds.

A bad cut to Gamaliel Diaz at the end of the third round has resulted in his fight with British lightweight Anthony Crolla being called a technical draw.

After the opening two rounds at the Phones4U Arena were evenly contested, Crolla and Diaz clashed during the final few seconds of the third which left the Mexican with a cut above his eyelid.

The 33-year-old soon made it clear that he wasn't prepared to continue the bout and, after advice from the doctor, the referee called the contest a technical draw.

The result means that a disappointed Crolla has successfully defended his WBO international belt, but the Mancunian may have to wait longer for a chance to compete for world honours.

Share this article now:
Scott Quigg celebrates his victory over Rendell Munroe during their Super Bantamweight bout at the MEN Arena on November 24, 2012
Read Next:
Quigg opponent named for September bout
>
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Loading ...

Failed to load data.

Subscribe to our Newsletter


Transfer Talk Daily
Match previews - twice weekly
Morning Briefing (7am UTC)
Ultra close-up image of Kevin De Bruyne [NOT FOR USE IN ARTICLES]Get the latest transfer news, match previews and news direct to your inbox!
Login, I already have my ad-free pass
Log in with Facebook to customise Sports Mole
Buy ad-free access (show me the options)
Buy monthly ad-free access for £1.20/month
Buy yearly ad-free access for £12 (2 months free)
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
Settings - Logout - Manage your account
LIVE SCORES VIDEPRINTER
expand