Petra Kvitova delighted with "emotional" Wimbledon semi-final win

Petra Kvitova of Czech Republic celebrates during her Ladies' Singles semi-final match against Lucie Safarova on July 3, 2014
© Getty Images
Petra Kvitova insists that she will be focused when she takes on Eugenie Bouchard in the Wimbledon final after an "emotional" win over Lucie Safarova.

Petra Kvitova has insisted that she will regain focus for the Wimbledon final following an "emotional" victory over Lucie Safarova in the semi-finals at the All England Club.

The 2011 champion secured her position in the women's final, which gets underway on Saturday, with a 7-6(6) 6-1 victory.

"It's great, it was a tough match mentally because Lucie is a great friend of mine," Kvitova told BBC Radio 5 live. "I am just happy that I won.

"I tried to be focused from the start of the second set and I managed to break her service in the first game and just kept it going and I served well.

"I am just very emotional from this match, but I have two days before the final to focus but I know how it feels to lift that trophy so I will try my best to do it again."

Kvitova will face Canadian Eugenie Bouchard in the final following the 20-year-old's straight-sets win over Simona Halep.

Who will win the women's Wimbledon final?

Petra Kvitova
Eugenie Bouchard
Petra Kvitova
Eugenie Bouchard
Canada's Eugenie Bouchard celebrates winning her women's singles quarter-final match against Germany's Angelique Kerber on day nine of the 2014 Wimbledon Championships at The All England Tennis Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, on July 2, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Bouchard reaches first Wimbledon final
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060