Result: Li Na fights past Dominika Cibulkova to reach Miami Masters final

Li Na celebrates after her win over Katerina Makarova in their Australian Open fourth round match on January 19, 2014
Li Na records a 7-5 2-6 6-3 win over Dominika Cibulkova to book her spot in the final of the Miami Masters.

Li Na has beaten Dominika Cibulkova 7-5 2-6 6-3 to set up a meeting with Serena Williams in the final of the Miami Masters.

A tight first set produced a number of lengthy games, with both players causing problems for their opponent as the Florida crowd witnessed five breaks of serve in the opener.

Li, who was forced to save a set point in the ninth game, made sure that a tie-break wasn't required when she broke to love to secure a 7-5 success.

Neither player was able to dominate on their serve as the second started with five consecutive breaks of serve, but Cibulkova stole the advantage by taking a 4-2 lead over Li with the first hold.

The Russian held her nerve to break the second seed once more, before serving out to level the scores.

Cibulkova started the decider confidently by breaking in the first game, but Li fought back to tie the set at 3-3 with a break of her own at a crucial stage.

The Australian Open champion edged ahead with another break in the eighth game to give herself a 5-3 lead and the opportunity to serve for the match.

Cibulkova refused to go down without a fight, saving two break points, but the 10th seed was unable to repeat the trick for the third time as Li finally secured her spot in the final.

China's Li Na celebrates after victory in her women's singles match against Italy's Flavia Pennetta on day nine at the 2014 Australian Open tennis tournament in Melbourne on January 21, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Li overcomes Wozniacki to reach semis
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060