Result: Novak Djokovic defeats David Ferrer for semi-final spot

Novak Djokovic
© PA Photos
Novak Djokovic is on his way to retaining the Australian Open title after claiming a 6-4 7-6[4] 6-1 victory over David Ferrer.

Novak Djokovic has fought his way to a semi-final clash against Andy Murray after defeating David Ferrer 6-4 7-6[4] 6-1 in a tough match in Melbourne.

The world number one took an hour to claim the first set after a difficult contest against his Spanish opponent, where tight rallies dominated the opening set.

While the Serbian appeared slightly weary during the initial stages of the quarter-final, a number of sensational forehand shots edged the scoreline in Djokovic's favour, resulting in the capture of the first set.

Ferrer refused to give up but failed to snatch the major points, which led Djokovic to break the 29-year-old's serve in his opening game of the second set.

The fifth seed began to come into his own and level the set 2-2 before taking the lead three games to two. However, Djokovic's slight dip didn't stop him from executing some vital shots to equal the scoreline.

With the Serbian pro seeming to hang on in the closing stages of the second set, Ferrer managed to force through a tie-break but couldn't overcome the number one seed, who took a two-set lead after two hours and 15 minutes of play.

While Djokovic struggled midway through the match, there were no doubts over his form in the third set as he stormed to victory and a semi-final spot.

The 24-year-old has to get past the British number one for a chance to retain his Australian Open title.

Tomas Berdych
Read Next:
Berdych: 'Top four are really strong'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060