Result: Tomas Berdych comes from a set down to beat Roger Federer in Dubai

Czech tennis player Tomas Berdych in action against Novak Djokovic on January 22, 2013
© AP Photos
Tomas Berdych clinches a place in the Dubai Tennis Championships final against Novak Djokovic by defeating Roger Federer in three sets.

Tomas Berdych will go head to head with Novak Djokovic for the Dubai Tennis Championships title following a shock 3-6 7-6[8] 6-4 victory over defending champion Roger Federer.

It was a tense start between the pair as points were gained by the way of serve in the opening set, but it was defending champion Federer who snatched the first break of serve.

The point proved crucial for the Swiss pro, who took control of the court with precise returns and strong forehands to prevent Berdych from breaking back.

The number two seed was pegged back in the second set as Berdych managed to find a break, but he was unable to hold and Federer broke back instantly to level the scoreline.

Berdych needed just one point to clinch the set with a second break, but Federer fought back to score an advantage and take the set to a tie-break, which was eventually won by Berdych 10-8 to take the match into a third set.

The deciding set started in the same way as the first two with games going by the way of serve, but Berdych was able to break Federer, who struggled to return the Czech's shots.

The number three seed served for the match to set up a final against Djokovic.

Serbia's Novak Djokovic celebrates defeating David Ferrer in their semifinal match at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 24, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Djokovic sees off Del Potro in Dubai
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Spain Rafael Nadal7,645
2Scotland flag Andy Murray7,150
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,690
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Alexander Zverev4,470
7Croatia Marin Cilic4,155
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,710
10Japan Kei Nishikori3,195
11Canada Milos Raonic2,870
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,690
13Belgium David Goffin2,525
14United States John Isner2,425
15Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
16Pablo Carreno Busta2,385
17United States Jack Sock2,345
18Australia Nick Kyrgios2,325
19Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,310
20Lucas Pouille2,210