Result: David Ferrer bounces back to clinch victory over David Goffin in Paris Masters

Spain's David Ferrer celebrates beating Spain's Pablo Carreno Busta during their men's singles first round match on day one of the 2014 Wimbledon Championships at The All England Tennis Club in Wimbledon, southwest London, on June 23, 2014
© Getty Images
David Ferrer beats David Goffin over three sets to reach the third round of the Paris Masters and keep him on track in the race to London.

David Ferrer's hopes of reaching the ATP World Tour Finals in London remain alive after he grabbed a 6-3 2-6 6-3 victory over David Goffin.

The Spaniard, who needs to win the tournament in France in order to seal a place at the O2 in London, will continue his campaign in Paris in the third round.

The opening set was a close contest between the pair, with games going by the way of serve until Ferrer went a break up in the fourth game.

Goffin failed to convert a break point in response and Ferrer eventually went on to take a one-set lead in Paris.

The 23-year-old Belgian bounced back in the second set by breaking his opponent's serve twice, while Ferrer struggled to cope and was forced to relinquish the set.

Both players lost their opening serves in the deciding set and Goffin was able to hold off a charge from Ferrer by saving three break points in the fifth game.

The momentum swung in the Spaniard's direction when he grabbed a crucial break point before securing victory.

British player Andy Murray celebrates after winning the semi-final tennis match against Spanish player David Ferrer at the ATP Valencia tennis Open at the City of Arts and Science complex in Valencia on October 25, 2014
Read Next:
The race to the ATP Tour Finals - as it stands
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060