Wimbledon champion Andy Murray chooses new permanent coach

British player Andy Murray leaves after the men's singles third round tennis match against Colombian player Santiago Giraldo at the Madrid Masters at the Magic Box (Caja Magica) sports complex in Madrid on May 8, 2014
© Getty Images
Wimbledon champion Andy Murray reveals that he has chosen his new permanent coach, but does not expect to make an announcement as yet.

Wimbledon champion Andy Murray has revealed that he has chosen his new permanent coach, but does not expect an announcement to be made before the French Open.

The Scotsman has been searching for a new coach since March after ending a two-year partnership with Ivan Lendl.

Seven-time Grand Slam champion John McEnroe has been touted as a possible option for Murray, who will take on world number 55 Andrey Golubev in the first round at Roland Garros.

Murray told BBC Sport: "I have an idea of exactly what I want. I've thought about it a lot, I've spoken to them and I'll see. It's not like you chat to the person and the next day it's done.

"You have to get a contract in place and there's always a few little complications in that respect, but as long as the desire from both people is to work together then hopefully it can happen fairly soon."

Murray missed last season's French Open due to injury.

Andy Murray of Great Britain serves as his coach Ivan Lendl looks on during training on day 10 of the 2013 Australian Open on January 23, 2013
Read Next:
Murray considering McEnroe as coach
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060