Lawn Tennis Association appoints first female president

Cathie Sabin is appointed the first female president of the LTA.

Cathie Sabin has been appointed the first female president of the Lawn Tennis Association.

The former vice-president, who will be in her new role for the next three years, replaces the outgoing Peter Bretherton.

"Cathie's qualities, knowhow and experience make her eminently qualified for this role," Bretherton told the LTA's official website. "And with her at the helm for the next three years, British tennis is in good hands."

Bretherton steps down following a three-year spell as president.

Roger Federer celebrates his win over Juan Martin Del Potro during the quarter finals of the Paris Masters on November 1, 2013
Read Next:
Nastase: 'Federer can play until he's 60'
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060