Record prize money announced for the 2013 Australian Open

Novak Djokovic
© PA Photos
Tennis Australia announce that they will offer a record prize pool of £19.3m at the 2013 Australian Open.

Tennis Australia have confirmed that they will offer record prize money at next year's Australian Open tournament.

The total prize pool for the opening Grand Slam of the season has risen by 15%, with a record total of £19.3m now on offer.

A number of leading lights from the men's game had threatened to boycott the event if they were not offered a greater share of the revenue prior to Tuesday's announcement.

CEO of Tennis Australia Steve Wood confirmed to Reuters that a decision must still be made on how to divide the prize pool.

Wood said: "We'll make the decision [on distribution] later in the year.

"It was really just time to listen to what the players are telling us in terms of the rewards for the massive growth we've had at the Australian Open and compensating them accordingly."

ATP chairman executive xhairman and president Brad Dewett also voiced his approval over the increase in prize money.

Dewett said: "We welcome the increase in prize money for the 2013 Australian Open and acknowledge the ongoing efforts of Tennis Australia to recognise the role of the players in the success of the tournament.

"We also look forward with confidence to continuing these successful discussions with a view to a longer-term understanding."

The announcement makes the tournament the richest annual event in the Australian sporting calendar, with reigning champions Novak Djokovic and Victoria Azarenka due to begin the defence of their titles on Monday, January 14.

Novak Djokovic
Read Next:
Djokovic praises Murray's form
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060