Result: Stanislas Wawrinka through to Monte Carlo semi-finals

Stanislas Wawrinka plays a backhand during his Australian Open quarter-final against Novak Djokovic in Melbourne on January 21, 2014
© Getty Images
Stanislas Wawrinka beats Milos Raonic 7-6(5) 6-2 in the Monte Carlo Masters quarter-finals.

Stanislas Wawrinka has progressed to the semi-finals of the Monte Carlo Masters with a straight-sets victory over Milos Raonic.

The Australian Open champion defeated his Canadian opponent 7-6(5) 6-2 in their quarter-final tie on Friday.

Wawrinka did not face a single break point in the contest and broke Raonic twice in the second set.

The Swiss was struggling in the first set, which went all the way to a tie-breaker.

Raonic was 3-0 up and then 5-3 ahead in the tie-breaker, but eventually failed to take advantage of the situation as he went down 7-5.

In the second set, the 23-year-old did not provide much of a challenge to Wawrinka, who won it with ease.

"I know I am supposed to be among the favourites, but every time I play a match I am in the state of mind of a challenger who is trying to win an additional match," The AP quotes the 29-year-old as saying.

"I was really focused on my serve to be really aggressive from the first shot, to make him move, to make him work every ball.

"I just feel strong from the baseline. I feel good physically. I know that on clay courts, if I play my best tennis, I can beat those guys."

Wawrinka will take on David Ferrer for a place in the final of the tournament.

David Ferrer of Spain in action in his match against Rafael Nadal of Spain during day six of the BNP Paribas Masters at Palais Omnisports de Bercy on November 2, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Ferrer wins all-Spanish quarter-final
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060