Result: Tomas Berdych beaten by Guillermo Garcia-Lopez

Guillermo Garcia-Lopez of Spain celebrates match point against Gael Monfils of France during their second round match on March 22, 2013
© Getty Images
Tomas Berdych is knocked out of the Monte Carlo Masters by Guillermo Garcia-Lopez, despite taking the first set.

Tomas Berdych has been beaten in the third round at the Monte Carlo Masters by Guillermo Garcia-Lopez.

The world number five went down 4-6 6-3 6-1 after over two hours on court.

Neither player started particularly well, exchanging service games at the start of the match before regaining their control as the opening set wore on.

Garcia-Lopez was the man holding his serve more easily but failed to do so when it counted, as Berdych broke at 5-4 to take the opener.

The second set started in opposite fashion to the first as both men raced through their opening service games to reach 3-3. Berdych battled hard in the next game, saving two break points before finally losing his serve, and then failing to hold again at 5-3 as Garcia-Lopez levelled the match.

After missing a break-point chance at the beginning of the final set, Berdych somehow hung on to his own service game to make it 1-1. After that though, Garcia-Lopez took charge, moving Berdych around the court with ease and breaking twice to seal the set 6-1.

The Spaniard will now face Novak Djokovic in the quarter-finals after the world number two beat Pablo Carreno-Busta in straight sets.

Tomas Berdych celebrates his win over Sergiy Stakhovsky during their match in the ATP Dubai Duty Free Tennis Championships on February 26, 2014
Read Next:
Result: Berdych through in straight sets
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060