Result: Rafael Nadal fightback claims Indian Wells crown

Rafael Nadal
© PA Photos
Rafael Nadal fights back from a set down to get the better of Juan Martin del Potro and win the Masters title at Indian Wells in three sets.

Rafael Nadal has capped his comeback from injury by edging Juan Martin del Potro 4-6 6-3 6-4 in a topsy-turvy final to claim the Indian Wells Masters crown.

The Spaniard started brightly and raced into a 3-0 lead in the first set, but Del Potro got his serve and forehand weapons working to battle back and claim the opener in 54 minutes.

Both players had chances in a second set full of fierce exchanges but Nadal held his nerve to level the match after showing some vintage form at the baseline.

Nadal went on the offensive early in the third and looked to capitalise as Del Potro looked tired in the decider after a grueling run to the final.

A blistering forehand earned Nadal a crucial break in the third game and the 26-year-old never looked back.

Del Potro kept fighting and saved three match points on serve, but Nadal held firm to seal an emotional victory in just over two hours.

Rafael Nadal
Read Next:
Live Commentary: Indian Wells Masters final: Del Potro vs. Nadal - as it happened
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060