Result: Andy Murray beaten by Juan Martin del Potro at Indian Wells

Britain's Andy Murray wipes sweat from his forehead during the men's final of the Australian Open tennis championship on January 26, 2013
© AP Photos
Andy Murray is beaten in three sets by Juan Martin del Potro in the quarter-finals of the BNP Paribas Open.

Andy Murray has been beaten by Juan Martin del Potro in the quarter-finals of the BNP Paribas Open in Indian Wells.

The British world number three failed to break the Argentine during the three-set contest as his hopes of claiming the world number two spot were thwarted.

Both players held serve throughout the opening set before Murray gained the initiative by seeing out the tie-break 7-5.

However, the Scot began to labour in the second and Del Potro took advantage with a single break on his way to levelling the match 6-3.

The world number seven broke twice in the deciding set on his way to a 4-1 lead before a double fault from Murray saw him close out the match 6-1.

Del Potro's reward for beating Murray is a semi-final encounter with world number one Novak Djokovic.

Serbia's Novak Djokovic in action against David Ferrer during their semifinal match at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 24, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Djokovic cruises into Indian Wells semis
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060