Serena, Venus Williams continue to boycott Indian Wells

The Williams sisters in action at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 22, 2013
© AP Photos
Serena and Venus Williams continue to boycott the Indian Wells tournament following an issue of alleged racial abuse in 2001.

Serena and Venus Williams will play no part in the Indian Wells tournament as they continue to boycott the competition following allegations of racial abuse.

The American sisters claimed that they, along with their father Richard, had been the victims of racial slurs during the tournament in California in 2001.

"I don't think you ever say it's a lost cause [to see them return]," tournament director Steve Simon told BBC Radio Five Live. "We have had communications with them over the years, many times, and we actually get along very well with them.

"They unfortunately had, in their minds, a bad experience here and have decided not to come back, but they know that they are welcome here and we get along famously. But they've got their reasons for not wanting to do it, and that's the way it is."

Meanwhile, US Open champion Andy Murray could move into the world number two spot if he reaches the final of the competition and Roger Federer fails to progress to the semi-finals.

Venus Williams hits a return shot during her second round match with Alize Cornet at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 16, 2013
Read Next:
Venus Williams withdraws from Qatar Open
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060