Result: Nishikori battles past Tsonga

Jo-Wilfried Tsonga
© PA Photos
Kei Nishikori defeats Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in a titanic battle that had to be decided in five sets.

Kei Nishikori defeated Jo-Wilfried Tsonga in a titanic battle that went to five sets.

Tsonga started the stronger of the two, imposing himself upon Nishikori to take an early lead and break serve. However, the Japanese 24th seed composed his play and began to fight back. Though, Tsonga proved too strong and he broke serve yet again to take the first set 6-2.

The second set turned out to be quite the opposite, with Nishikori completing a double-break to race into a 4-0 lead. Tsonga seemed to have lost his composure completely, making unforced errors and finding it hard to find any kind of fluency and rhythm.

Tsonga did fight back to make it 4-2, but the competitive edge seemed to be lacking as Nishikori took the set 6-2.

Nishikori continued his form and broke Tsonga's serves again to head into a 5-1 lead in the third set. The opening set looked to be a fluke for Tsonga, who could not handle Nishikori's movement as he took the set 6-1.

The Frenchman went into the fourth set and rediscovered his rhythm to impose an aggressive style upon Nishikori. Tsonga levelled the match at 2-2 and took it into a fifth and final set.

The fifth set went by way of serve until Nishikori broke serve and controlled the court with surprising ease, considering the tiring length of the match. Nishikori looked happy to let the game go by way of serve thereafter, taking the set 6-3.

The 22-year-old goes into his first quarter-final in a major against Andy Murray.

Jo-Wifried Tsonga
Read Next:
Result: Tsonga breezes into round four
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060