Result: Ekaterina Makarova survives Marion Bartoli fightback

Russia's Ekaterina Makarova hits a forehand return during her third round encounter with Marion Bartoli at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 18, 2013
© AP Photos
Ekaterina Makarova struggles in getting past Marion Bartoli but gets the job done to set up a clash with Angelique Kerber.

Ekaterina Makarova has prevailed over Marion Bartoli in a three-set dogfight at the Australian Open.

The Russian took the initiative early on, establishing an early break to race into a 3-0 lead. Bartoli soon settled into the contest, and struck back to level the match before taking it to a tie-break.

It took 78 minutes of play, but the French 11th seed finally edged in front by taking the breaker 7-4.

Makarova regained control in the second set, striking 13 winners while Bartoli made 12 unforced errors.

That helped Makarova to level the score and take the match into a deciding set.

It was then that Bartoli's challenge faltered as Makarova punished her with some incisive shot-making to establish a 5-0 advantage.

Despite struggling with the pace, Bartoli managed to hold her serve for the first time in the set, before breaking Makarova as she served for the match.

She then had to fight off match point on her own serve, and did so tenaciously.

Makarova brought up match point once again on her own serve, but the pressure on her shoulders began to show as she struggled to get over the finishing line.

Amazingly, Bartoli eventually broke the Russian to get back on serve and looked to have the momentum.

However, it was all in vain as she conceded her next service game to bow out of the tournament 7-6(4) 3-6 4-6.

Makarova will now play Angelique Kerber in the fourth round.

German Angelique Kerber celebrates after winning her third round match against Madison Keys at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 18, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Kerber dispatches Keys in two
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060