Andy Murray not involved in US Open boycott talks

Great Britain's Andy Murray in action in the second round against Joao Sousa on January 17, 2013
© AP Photos
Andy Murray says that he is not involved in talks to boycott the US Open.

Andy Murray has revealed that he is not involved in threats to boycott the 2013 US Open.

Reports in The Times yesterday suggested that a number of players are considering a walkout due to issues regarding prize money.

The same newspaper also hinted that players are unhappy with the final being moved to a Monday and will demand that the schedule is reviewed.

Murray, speaking after his straight-sets win over Gilles Simon in the Australian Open, said that he is aware of the issue, but has not spoken to anyone about boycotting.

"Since the player meeting, I haven't discussed with any of the players what was said there, what the plans are," said Murray. "But I know that the ATP are not particularly happy with the Monday final.

"I know that's an issue because however much revenue they make from having an extra day on their tournament hasn't really [been] reflected in the increase in the prize money.

"That was what the players wanted, was obviously better prize money but not with an extra day to the event. I think that's what they're disappointed with, but I personally haven't spoken with anyone about boycotting the event."

Murray, won won his first Grand Slam at Flushing Meadows last year, will now face Jeremy Chardy for a place in the semi-finals in Melbourne.

Britain's Andy Murray hits a forehand return during his third round match at the Australian Open tennis championship on January 19, 2013
Read Next:
Murray predicts tough Chardy battle
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Scotland flag Andy Murray7,750
2Spain Rafael Nadal7,555
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,780
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Croatia Marin Cilic5,155
7Alexander Zverev4,470
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Japan Kei Nishikori3,285
10Canada Milos Raonic3,230
11Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,070
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,770
13Belgium David Goffin2,560
14Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
15Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,390
16United States Jack Sock2,335
17Pablo Carreno Busta2,305
18Lucas Pouille2,220
19United States John Isner2,110
20United States Sam Querrey2,060