Andy Murray named as fourth seed for Australian Open

Andy Murray
© PA Photos/Ella Ling
The Australian Open seedings are announced, with British number one Andy Murray being named as the number four seed.

Andy Murray has been confirmed as the fourth seed for this month's Australian Open.

World number one Novak Djokovic will be the top seed in the draw, as will be Caroline Wozniacki in the women's tournament.

Djokovic tops the seedings ahead of Rafael Nadal, Roger Federer and former finalist Murray.

Serena Williams has been seeded 13th in the women's draw but will not be joined by her sister, following Venus' withdrawal due to illness.

The seedings that have been announced at the first Grand Slam of the year exactly mirror the current ATP world rankings.

You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

ATP RankingsPoints
1Spain Rafael Nadal7,645
2Scotland flag Andy Murray7,150
3Switzerland Roger Federer7,145
4Switzerland Stanislas Wawrinka5,690
5Serbia Novak Djokovic5,325
6Alexander Zverev4,470
7Croatia Marin Cilic4,155
8Austria Dominic Thiem4,030
9Bulgaria Grigor Dimitrov3,710
10Japan Kei Nishikori3,195
11Canada Milos Raonic2,870
12France Jo-Wilfried Tsonga2,690
13Belgium David Goffin2,525
14United States John Isner2,425
15Spain Roberto Bautista Agut2,425
16Pablo Carreno Busta2,385
17United States Jack Sock2,345
18Australia Nick Kyrgios2,325
19Czech Republic Tomas Berdych2,310
20Lucas Pouille2,210