Jun 14, 2014 at 10pm UK
Hassler (23')
Gilchrist (28')

Result: Greig Laidlaw wins it late on for Scotland

Greig Laidlaw of Scotland looks on during the RBS Six Nations match between Scotland and England at Murrayfield Stadium on February 8, 2014
© Getty Images
Scotland defeat Canada 19-17 at BMO Field courtesy of Greig Laidlaw's late penalty.

Greig Laidlaw's late penalty has secured a 19-17 victory for Scotland over Canada at BMO Field.

The scrum-half kicked his side ahead with just three minutes on the clock when he successfully converted a penalty, before the hosts hit back with one of their own through James Pritchard.

Jeff Hassler crossed over for the first try of the contest on 23 minutes to fire the Canucks ahead, but the lead did not last long with Grant Gilchrist crossing over despite a last-gasp tackle from Tim Visser to deny him, leaving Laidlaw to add the spoils.

That would signal the end of the try-scoring for the game, with Laidlaw finding the sticks once more from a penalty to extend the visitors' advantage.

Pritchard kicked over twice in the second half to put his side back into the lead, but once more Scotland hit back through another penalty which was this time converted by Stuart Hogg.

The lead continued to change hands in the closing stages as Pritchard kicked over, while Laidlaw found the target for the third time with less than 10 minutes remaining to put Scotland within touching distance of victory.

Jebb Sinclair was shown a red card before the end of the game following a forearm smash on Ruaridh Jackson, as the Dark Blues held out for the win.

Edinburgh's captain Greig Laidlaw celebrates at the final whistle during the The Heineken Cup Pool 6 Match between Edinburgh and Munster at Murrayfield Stadium, on October 12, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Scotland ease to win over USA
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Aviva Premiership TablePPTS
2Exeter Chiefs2279
4Leicester Tigers2265
5Bath Rugby2258
6Northampton Saints2252
8Newcastle Falcons2249
9Gloucester Rugby2246
10Sale Sharks2240
11Worcester Warriors2232
12Bristol Rugby2220