Super League to lose two teams in 2015

Wigan Warriors Liam Farrell runs clear to score a try during the Super League match against Leeds Rhinos on March 15, 2013
© Anna Gowthorpe / PA Photos
The Rugby Football League announces that the Super League will be reduced from 14 to 12 clubs in 2015.

The Rugby Football League has announced that the Super League will be a 12-team competition from 2015.

The clubs have agreed to a change to the structure of the current format, which is contested between 14 clubs.

Prior to 2009, the Super League was made up of 12 clubs, but the RFL decided to award two additional licences and abolish promotion to and relegation from the competition.

Currently, the top eight sides at the end of league season go into the playoffs in a bid to reach the annual Grand Final.

Sam Tomkins
Read Next:
Tomkins has "50%" chance of being fit for Widnes clash
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole