Three Burgess brothers named in England's World Cup squad

Rabbitohs' Sam Burgess in action against the Storm on September 13, 2013
© Getty Images
Three Burgess brothers Sam, George and Tom are named in England's 24-man World Cup squad.

Three Burgess brothers have been included in England head coach Steve McNamara's World Cup squad.

Sam, George and Tom, who all play for Australian side South Sydney Rabbitohs, have been named in the 24-man squad, making it the first time that three brothers have been selected for England.

"After three years of excellent preparation and the success of the England Elite Training programme during that period, we are ready for the Rugby League World Cup 2013," said McNamara.

"We are fully aware that the Rugby League World Cup 2013 will be fiercely contested and that this squad will need to work extremely hard and play to a very high level to win the tournament and we believe we have selected a squad capable of doing just that."

Twins George and Tom Burgess are the only uncapped players in the squad, while Leeds's Kevin Sinfield will captain the team.

England will try to win their first home games since Great Britain took the trophy in 1972.

England's 24-man squad:

Carl Ablett (Leeds), Tom Briscoe (Hull), George Burgess, Sam Burgess, Tom Burgess (all South Sydney), Rob Burrow (Leeds), Josh Charnley (Wigan), Rangi Chase (Castleford), Leroy Cudjoe (Huddersfield), Liam Farrell (Wigan), James Graham (Canterbury Bulldogs), Ryan Hall (Leeds), Zak Hardaker (Leeds), Chris Hill (Warrington), Gareth Hock (Widnes), Michael McIlorum (Wigan), Lee Mossop (Wigan), Sean O'Loughlin (Wigan), James Roby (St Helens), Kevin Sinfield (Leeds, capt), Sam Tomkins (Wigan), Kallum Watkins (Leeds), Ben Westwood (Warrington), Gareth Widdop (Melbourne)

New Rugby League generic
Read Next:
Ellis retires from international rugby
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Super League TablePPTS
1Castleford Tigers2644
2Leeds Rhinos2634
3Hull FC2631
4Wakefield Trinity Wildcats2628
5St Helens2627
6Wigan Warriors2627
7Salford Red Devils2626
8Huddersfield Giants2625
9Warrington Wolves2320
10Catalans Dragons2315
11Leigh Centurions2312
12Widnes Vikings2311