Result: Rory McIlroy ends year-long drought with Australian Open victory

Rory McIlroy of Northern Ireland holds aloft the Australian Open trophy after victory during day four of the 2013 Australian Open at Royal Sydney Golf Club on December 1, 2013
© Getty Images
Rory McIlroy sinks a 15-foot birdie putt on the 72nd hole to win the Australian Open by one shot.

Rory McIlroy has beaten Adam Scott by one shot in a thrilling final round at the Australian Open.

In doing so, the Northern Irishman has ended a trophy drought that lasted just over a year since winning the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai last November.

The 24-year-old drained a 15-foot birdie putt on the 72nd hole after Scott had made bogey to clinch the title in dramatic fashion at Royal Sydney Golf Club.

This year's Masters champion, who was bidding for the Aussie 'Triple Crown' following victories in the Masters and PGA events, had led since posting a course-record 62 on Thursday.

He started the day four ahead of McIlroy, but could only post a one-under 71 to finish 17-under for the championship.

The Northern Irishman's superb six-under-par 66 means that Robert Allenby remains the only player to win the Australian Masters, PGA and Open titles all in the same season (2005).

Rory McIlroy in action during the third day of the PGA Championship on August 10, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Scott leads McIlroy by four in Australia
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole