Result: Briny Baird falters as Chris Kirk wins McGladrey Classic

Chris Kirk poses with the trophy after winning The McGladrey Classic at Sea Island's Seaside Course on November 10, 2013
© Getty Images
Chris Kirk wins his second PGA Tour title after Briny Baird bogeys the final hole at the McGladrey Classic.

Briny Baird has bogeyed the 72nd hole at the McGladrey Classic to allow Chris Kirk a par finish to claim the trophy at Sea Island.

The 41-year-old American, who has never won on the PGA Tour, was tied at the top on 14-under par heading to the 18th, where he shot five to drop out of the lead.

Kirk had birdied the par-three 17th to tie himself at the top moments earlier, and the 28-year-old, playing in his native Georgia, only had to tap in for par on the 18th green to post 14-under for the championship.

It is his second career title, with his maiden victory coming at the Viking Classic two years ago.

South Africa's Tim Clark shot an eight-under 62, which was the joint-best score of the week, to tie Baird in second place, while Brian Gay, John Senden and Scott Brown shared fourth on 12-under.

Chris Kirk in action during the second round of The McGladrey Classic on November 8, 2013
Read Next:
Result: Kirk, Baird share lead at McGladrey Classic
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole

Golf on LockerDome