Three Americans to make Ryder Cup debuts

Three Americans to make Ryder Cup debuts
© PA Photos
The American PGA confirms the names of the eight players that have automatically qualified for this year's Ryder Cup in Chicago.

Jason Dufner, Keegan Bradley and Webb Simpson will make their debuts at this year's Ryder Cup after securing their places in the USA team on Sunday night.

The first eight automatic qualifiers were confirmed following the end of play at the US PGA Championship, which was won by Northern Ireland's Rory McIlroy.

Phil Mickelson, who sneaked in as the lowest-ranked of the eight, will become America's record cap-holder when he makes his ninth consecutive Ryder Cup appearance in Chicago next month.

Tiger Woods, Bubba Watson, Zach Johnson and Matt Kuchar are the other players to have qualified via the points-based system.

Rory McIlroy
Read Next:
McIlroy hails "incredible week"
You May Like
Recomended from Sports Mole